Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

4th. Conversation · online · Andean Temporalities and Ancestral Futures

May 4, 2023 @ 11:00 am - 12:30 pm

11:00 a.m. New York, United States, EDT; 10:00 a.m. Colombia; 12:00 hs. Argentina; 17:00 hs. Germany

Zoom Link: https://NewSchool.zoom.us/j/93387438959

This fourth Conversation of the program 2084: Imagined Futures from the South invites us to discuss how the indigenous can be understood not as something anchored in the past and exoticized, but as a powerful enabler of new imaginations of other possible futures.

REGISTER here

Participants:
Carmen Ibáñez, Bolivian sociologist and postdoctoral researcher at the Freie University of Berlin. Her academic-political practice focuses on the issue of future temporalities, exploring how indigenous modernities free themselves from stereotyped and paternalistic visions of what is Indian.

Julieth Morales, Misak artist from Cauca, Colombia. Her work offers an enriching interpretation of “KUP” (Spin threads) as a process of construction of women’s identity through ritual and its transformative power.

Juan Pablo Aschner, Founding Dean and Full Professor of the Faculty of Creation at the Universidad del Rosario in Bogotá, Colombia, will offer comments and questions to the panelists, before opening space for questions from the public.

The Conversation will be presented by
Juan Manuel González, Adjunct Professor, and Senior Fellow of OLA, The New School.

You are welcome!

Thursday May 4, 2023

11:00 a.m. New York, United States, EDT
10:00 a.m. Colombia
12:00 hs. Argentina
17:00 hs. Germany

Online event – Zoom link

Observatory on Latin America (OLA/The New School) and Dirección de Programas Internacionales (DPI FADU UBA).

*This is an Online Zoom meeting and will be in Spanish. Este seminario web se llevará a cabo a través de Zoom y será en español.

*Image credit: Srusral Mora Kup, “Young women spinning”, 45th National Salon of Artists, El revés de la trama, La fábula de Aracne. Museum of Visual Arts Jorge Tadeo Lozano University, Video installation, 2019.

For any questions or queries, please contact us: ola@newschool.edu